Print this page

Several States Represented in Winner's Circle at 37th Florida Coast Equipment Citrus Nationals

Monday, November 26, 2018
JUPITER, Fla. —  Several states from the United States were represented in the on-track action at the 37th annual Florida Coast Equipment Citrus Nationals at Palm Beach International Raceway.
Saturday winners include Matt Buck from Lantana in Box, Jay White from Ft. Pierce in No Box, Bill Powell from Stuart in Quick 16 and Tripp McCarty from Hazelhurst, Ga., in the Junior Dragster class. 
Sunday winners include Dillon Voss from Royal Palm Beach in Outlaw 632, Tom Dauber from Medford, N.J., in Box, Ben Reaves from Lake Worth in No Box, Steve Dweck from Hollywood in Quick 16 and Caraline McCarty from Hazelhurst, Ga., in the Junior Dragster class. 
Buck had a perfect light (.000) and had a 4.667-elapsed time at 145.75 to win the Box class. Runner-up Claude Debonis had a quick reaction time at .018 and ran a 4.675 at 143.69.
White brought out his 1967 Chevrolet Camaro and made a winning pass at 6.401 seconds and 98.57 mph in No Box. Glenn Guthrie from Kingsland, Ga., had the better light .010 to .048, and then made a 6.365-second run at 101.02 mph.
In the Quick 16 Door Car division, Bill Powell from Stuart, drove another Chevrolet, a 2010 Cobalt, to the win when final-round opponent Johnny Hollis red-lighted. Powell went down the track in 4.893 seconds at 141.50 with a .072 reaction time. Hollis, from Miami Gardens, was a little too quick at the start, -.007, before a pass of 6.429 seconds at 74.22 mph.
McCarty won the Junior Dragster competition when Aaron Reynolds red-lighted by just a .001 of a second. McCarty was .020 at the tree, going down the track in 9.010 seconds at 53.23 mph. Reynolds, from West Melbourne, completed his pass at 7.909 seconds and 80.53 mph.
During Sunday’s Action, Dillon Voss from Royal Palm Beach, Fla., defeated Ken Kershaw from Boynton Beach, Fla., in the Outlaw 632 final. Voss and Kershaw had identical reaction times (.037), however Voss edged Kershaw with a 4.295 second pass at 166.62 mph.  Kershaw had a 4.314 second pass at 163.79 mph. 
Tom Dauber of Medford, N.J., took home the win in Box. His .019 reaction time coupled with a 4.750 second pass at 142.88 mph was good enough to defeat Claude Debonis from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., who had a .032 reaction time with a 4.826 second pass at 135.99 mph. 
Ben Reaves from Lake Worth, Fla., claimed the victory in No Box defeated Ethan “Little Dog” Doty from Margate, Fla.  Reaves had a .084 reactions time coupled with a 7.387 second pass at 85.73 mph.  Doty had a quicker reaction time of .016 coupled with a 9.370 second pass at 72.69 mph. 
Full results from the 37th Annual Florida Coast Equipment Citrus Nationals can be found HERE.
Last modified on Monday, November 26, 2018